UEFA Euro 2020 is the 16th European Championships that will feature 24 teams across 12 European countries.

The main reason why UEFA choose to spread the events across Europe is to mark and celebrate its 60 years since the inaugural European Championships.

Opening Ceremony: What you need to know

The UEFA Euro 2020 opening ceremony will be held on June 12, 2020, in Rome at 9 PM at Stadio Olimpico.

The ceremony will feature an opening concert that will even bring on some famous international musicians.

The ceremony gives us the Euro theme song that fills the stadium, and we can feel the football fanatics energy in us.

Do you want to feel like you’re in the stadium for the opening ceremony? Then, watch Euro 2020 live stream that is available from official broadcasters like the BBC and many other websites.

Euro 2020 teams in their respective groups

  • Group A: Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland
  • Group B: Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia
  • Group C: Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, Play-off winner D (A)*
  • Group D: England, Croatia, Play-off winner C, Czech Republic
  • Group E: Spain, Sweden, Poland, Play-off winner B
  • Group F: Play-off winner A (D)*, Portugal, France, Germany

Twenty teams are confirmed. The remaining four teams are expected to qualify through playoffs taking place between 26-31 March 2020.

Matches at the Stadio Olimpico

After the opening ceremony in Rome, we expect the following games to be played in the same stadium.

  • Friday, June 12 – Group A: Turkey v Italy (21:00, local time)
  • Wednesday, June 17 – Group A: Italy v Switzerland (21:00, local time)
  • Sunday, June 21 – Group A: Italy v Wales (18:00, local time)
  • Saturday, July 4 – QF4: Winner 8 v Winner 7 (21:00, local time)


You can watch the opening ceremony and other matches held at the Stadio Olimpico, Rome via the official broadcasters, such as the BBC, ITV, ESPN, and BeIN Sports.